Fair Housing Statement

Select Premium Properties, Inc. and Stephanie Smith, Broker does business in compliance with federal, state and local housing laws. The Fair Housing Act is an important law and applies equally throughout the country. The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing based upon:

Race or color.
National origin.
Familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women and people securing custody of children under 18).
Handicap (Disability).
What Housing is Covered? The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

What is Prohibited? In the Sale and Rental of Housing: No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:
Refuse to rent or sell housing.
Refuse to negotiate for housing.
Make housing unavailable.
Deny a dwelling.
Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.
Provide different housing services or facilities.
Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental.
For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting) or
Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.
In Addition: it is illegal for anyone to:
Threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others who exercise that right.
Advertise or make any statement that indicates a limitation or preference based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or handicap. This prohibition against discriminatory advertising applies to single-family and owner-occupied housing that is otherwise exempt from the Fair Housing Act.
As a home seller, you are obligated not to discriminate in the sale, rental or financing of your property on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status or national origin. You also cannot do so through your licensed broker or salesperson, who is also bound by discrimination law. In either case, you may not set any discriminatory terms or conditions in a purchase contract or a lease. You may not deny that housing is available or advertise a property's availability only to persons of a certain race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status or national origin.

Discrimination complaints about housing may be filed with the nearest office of the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) or by calling HUD's toll-free numbers, 1-800-669-9777 (voice) or 1-800-543-8294 (TDD). Or contact HUD on the internet at https://www.hud.gov/fhe/fheo.html.

Many states have additional classes and groups of persons that are afforded express legal protection. You may wish to check your state government listings in your local phone book to find the agency that can provide you with additional information about state-specific fair housing/equal housing laws.

This Fair Housing Information applies to this web site and services offered herein.